H IS FOR HAWK

images

Many books are heaped with praise on their covers before a reader has a chance to gauge their own opinion. Sometimes the reviews are almost too awe-inspiring. Can make a reader nervous. Can make a book unapproachable. In the case of Helen McDonald’s H is for Hawk no praise seems too much. I know this because I don’t often feel like rushing out and buying a copy for everyone I know. This book I want to share, extravagantly. I have bought a copy for my medical ophthalmologist Dr Paul Meyer, a man renowned for his precise attention to detail and excruciating patience with every vulnerable being sitting before him. We share a love for the life and writings of Primo Levi, poet, chemist, Holocaust survivor, writer of the extraordinary If This Is A Man, which deserves its own post.

If you haven’t come across this book – part memoir on grief, part hawking encyclopaedia, part biography of TH White, author of The Sword in the Stone – rush out to buy it, download it on your kindle. You won’t regret it. Helen trained Mabel very near to the part of Cambridge I call home. Quite exciting to think I might bump into her one day out in the fens…

Helen and her hawk...
Helen and her hawk…
2 thoughts on “H IS FOR HAWK

  1. Shai, you have convinced me. I will add this to my reading list. I just finished The Tusk that did the Damage by Tania James and I recommend it highly.

    Like

  2. Shaista, I just read this book recently too and I was riveted by every page. Her writing is truly wonderful, and one really gets to know the hawk while reading. I started off worrying, because I am not fond of wild things being captive. But the author really understands her hawk and knew how to bond with it respectfully, so I soon became more engrossed in the training process. I wrote a poem about the training of a hawk, distilling what she learned into poem form. I felt like I made that journey with them. You definitely should try to connect with Helen since you live close by. Wouldnt it be amazing to meet her and Mabel?

    Like

Always happy to hear from readers!

